Banana Breakfast Muffins

This morning I woke up and wondered what I could make for breakfast.  Yesterday we had eggy bread with a little syrup drizzled over the top, but the husband didn’t really seem convinced about it, not always perfect.  So this morning I got out of bed and went in search of caffeine, which was where I spotted the bananas.

They were black, I would never eat them in a month of Sundays, but they were looking at me begging to be used.  Now I’m not one to say no to baking/eating a cake, so I thought, should I make a banana loaf? I was far too hungry to be waiting an hour for it to cook, however muffins don’t really take too long, and they are meant to be a breakfast dish…

  • 2 large ripe over ripe bananas mashed
  • 125ml milk
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 250g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs

Heat the oven to 190°C and grease a muffin tin well (because I don’t have any muffin liners – but if you are more organised you can use them).

Sift the flour, bicarbonate of soda and cinnamon into a bowl.

Beat together the sugar and butter in a separate, then mix in the eggs one at a time.  Add the mashed bananas and the milk and mix it all up.

Make a well in the dry ingredients and fold in the wet, and mix until the mixture is well combined.

Pop them into the oven for 20 mins, or till golden brown and they bounce back when you poke them.  Take them out of the oven and allow to cool for a few minutes in the tin before removing from the tin to cool on the wire rack for a further 5 mins.  If you can wait long enough that is before you start eating them!

They have this delicious treacle-ish smell which is divine, and the husband seemed really impressed that I’d got up again this weekend to bake him something.

Give them a try, enjoy them with a big steaming mug of coffee.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

