Sweet Choux Pastry Buns

The budding domestic goddess/amazing wife I am, on Sunday I left my husband in my beautiful warm bed. This was a massive effort for me, because I love my bed. Sleep is up there on my top ten favourite things to do. I mean, if I could hibernate, I would. So anyway, I got out of bed, and went into the kitchen. I scratched my head and thought of what I could make him. Then, inspired by Rachel Khoo’s fabulous Little Paris Kitchen, I thought of choux buns.

Dusted With Icing Sugar

Let me explain, I have tried choux pastry before, but it seemed like an awful lot of effort – all that beating – phew!

So I didn’t really do it again. Then I watched Little Paris Kitchen and realised that if Rachel Khoo can make in a tiny kitchen, with two gas rings and a tiny oven, then I could do it in my average sized kitchen. Obviously, she has studied at Le Cordon Bleu, and I’ve been trained by… me, so clearly she’s better at this than I am. Inspired and raring to get cooking I headed into the kitchen (by taking a short step from the “Living Room Space” to the “Kitchen Space”.

Here’s how I did it:

150ml Water

50g Butter (I used margarine and it was still very yummy)

60g Plain Flour sieved and ready to chuck in the pan

2 large eggs pre-beaten in a bowl

2 tablespoons Caster Sugar

1 tablespoon Icing sugar (I say 1 tablespoon, but it’s to sprinkle over, so however much you want really)

1 teaspoon Cinnamon

  1. Preheat the oven to 200ºC
  2. Heat the water and the butter is melted and bubbling then turn off the heat.
  3. Chuck in the flour and beat the hell out of the mixture until it combines into a big lump.
  4. Add the egg to the mixture in small amounts beating it in until it is well combined. Please don’t panic at this point… like I did… it will look like it’s curdling but keep beating and it will eventually combine.
  5. Pour into a piping bag. I like to use disposable piping bags (less washing up – Bonus!) and I pop it over a pint glass because I find it much easier to put whatever you want to pipe in it.
  6. Pipe small circles onto a pre-lined baking sheet.
  7. Pop into the oven for 10 mins.
  8. After 10 mins turn up the heat to 220ºC for a further 20 mins, then remove the buns from the oven and arrange on a plate.
  9. Sprinkle icing sugar and cinnamon over the top and enjoy!

I thought these were exceptionally yummy. They weren’t as complicated as I remembered and most importantly the Husband was very impressed (after complaining for quite some time that I had woken him up – ungrateful B*****).

Did you know it’s the water content of the pastry that acts as the raising agent for the buns when it turns into steam in the heat of the oven.

Prior to my blogging efforts (which have been minimal thus far, but give me a chance to get the keyboard, and the kitchen warmed up), I loved following the efforts on the blogosphere of the bloggers completing the Breakfast Club Challenge, originated by Fuss Free Flavours. So I am really quite excited to be taking part in this months efforts to produce Sweet Treats

.This is a really cool little video that looks at the magic of choux pastry:

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Sweet Choux Pastry Buns

  1. feehatesrain April 16, 2012 at 10:34 am Reply

    these look amazing Libby, definitely going to give them a try.. maybe fill them with cream and cover them in chocolate too… (and keep them away from the hubby!!)

    • Elisabeth April 16, 2012 at 7:59 pm Reply

      My husband definitely ate more than me, not that I was keeping a close count or anything!

  2. Debby May 2, 2012 at 5:05 pm Reply

    These look scrumptious. I’ve been wanting to have at making them again myself Elisabeth…but like you remembered all the processes…this has made me determined to have another go!
    Deb

    • Elisabeth May 2, 2012 at 8:11 pm Reply

      Definitely give them a go! They’re really easy – trust me I’m a lazy cook with v little time to be faffing on.

      E x

Leave a Reply

